Teen Drivers Ed
is available only in California for teens 15 1/2 but under 18
years of age
to complete the DMV requirements prior to
taking the Learners Permit Test. This online course
fulfills all the DMV lesson plan requirements and has been
reviewed and approved by the DMV. There are 25 chapters to
complete the driver education course and each chapter is divided
into lessons ending with a quiz. The final test is the
last section of the driving education course. You may
retake the final test until you obtain the passing score.
to start the course!
The following information will assist you in
meeting the DMV requirements for obtaining the Learners Permit
and Drivers License.
To obtain a learner's permit, you must be at
least 15 1/2, but under 18 years of age. Register and
online. Upon completion, the
certificate (DL 387 or OL 237) will be in the mail (1-2 days).
We are not currently offering the driver education in classroom
Obtain a Drivers License application form (DL
44). Fill out completely and sign.
Obtain your parents or guardians signature on
the application form.
Visit the DMV office or make an
appointment online to take the permit test.
You must bring the following
documents required by the DMV to take the permit test.
Certificate of completion
Completed Driver License
application form (DL 44)
Provide acceptable birth
certificate or passport
You must provide your SS#
Once you pass the Learner's Permit Test, call
us to schedule your 6-hours behind-the-wheel training. The
learner's permit is not valid until you start your first two
hours of behind-the-wheel training with our instructors.
On your first lesson, you will receive our 6-hr behind-the-wheel
training course outline. The instructor will cover each
lesson as outlined including advance defensive driving
techniques. The Instructor will inform you or your parents
any habits or areas that you need to improve.
Upon completion of the course, you will
receive the certification (OL 238). This certifies that
you have completed the requirements of 6-hours professional
instructor led training. In addition, you will have to
complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice accompanied by
your parents or with an adult 25 years or older with a valid
driver license. You must complete at least 10 hours of the
50 hours practice during night time.
You have six months to complete the above
requirements before you schedule your driving test.
Teen Drivers License
You must be at
least 16 years old
You have your
Learner's Permit for at least 6 months
completed the 6-hour behind the wheel training course
completed 50 hours of supervised driving with an adult 25 years
or older (10 hours at night). Parents must sign your
instruction permit stating that you have completed the 50 hours
of supervised training.
Call us or the DMV to make an appointment for
your driving test. If you would like our instructor to
accompany you to your road test, please let us know ahead of
time so that the instructor is available to assist you
(additional charge will apply) .
You must show proof that you have completed
the Teen License Requirements
Provide acceptable birth certificate or
Provide your SS#
Pass the behind-the-wheel driving test!
Be safe, defensive, confident, and
If you feel you need to
practice more prior to your actual driving test, please call us
to make an appointment. Ron's Driving School wants you to
2011 California Teen
Once you pass your driving test and receive
your provisional license, for a period of 12 months:
You cannot have passengers under age 20
unless you are accompanied by your parents or guardian with a
valid drivers license.
You cannot drive between the hours of 11pm
and 5am unless you have someone in the car age 25 or older with
a valid driver's license.
If you are at least 17
1/2 you may obtain a permit without completing the Driver
Education and Driver Training. However, to get your
drivers license before you turn 18 years old, you must provide
proof of Drivers Education and Drivers Training.