Teen Drivers Ed Online is available only in California for teens 15 1/2 but under 18 years of age to complete the DMV requirements prior to taking the Learners Permit Test.  This online course fulfills all the DMV lesson plan requirements and has been reviewed and approved by the DMV.  There are 25 chapters to complete the driver education course and each chapter is divided into lessons ending with a quiz.  The final test is the last section of the driving education course.  You may retake the final test until you obtain the passing score. Click Drivers Ed online to start the course!

To Enroll click here

To Enroll log in


Teen License Requirements

The following information will assist you in meeting the DMV requirements for obtaining the Learners Permit and Drivers License.

California Learner's Permit

  • To obtain a learner's permit, you must be at least 15 1/2, but under 18 years of age.  Register and complete the Drivers Ed online.  Upon completion, the  certificate (DL 387 or OL 237) will be in the mail (1-2 days).  We are not currently offering the driver education in classroom instruction.

  • Obtain a Drivers License application form (DL 44).  Fill out completely and sign.

  • Obtain your parents or guardians signature on the application form.

  • Visit the DMV office  or make an appointment online to take the permit test.

  • You must bring the following ORIGINAL documents required by the DMV to take the permit test.

  1. Driver Education Certificate of completion

  2. Completed Driver License application form (DL 44)

  3. Provide acceptable birth certificate or passport

  4. You must provide your SS#

  5. $31

  • Once you pass the Learner's Permit Test, call us to schedule your 6-hours behind-the-wheel training.  The learner's permit is not valid until you start your first two hours of behind-the-wheel training with our instructors.  On your first lesson, you will receive our 6-hr behind-the-wheel training course outline.  The instructor will cover each lesson as outlined including advance defensive driving techniques.  The Instructor will inform you or your parents any habits or areas that you need to improve. 

  • Upon completion of the course, you will receive the certification (OL 238).  This certifies that you have completed the requirements of 6-hours professional instructor led training.  In addition, you will have to complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice accompanied by your parents or with an adult 25 years or older with a valid driver license.  You must complete at least 10 hours of the 50 hours practice during night time.

  • You have six months to complete the above requirements before you schedule your driving test.

Teen Drivers License Requirements

  • You must be at least 16 years old

  • You have your Learner's Permit for at least 6 months

  • You have completed the 6-hour behind the wheel training course

  • You have completed 50 hours of supervised driving with an adult 25 years or older (10 hours at night).  Parents must sign your instruction permit stating that you have completed the 50 hours of supervised training.

Driving Test

  • Call us or the DMV to make an appointment for your driving test.  If you would like our instructor to accompany you to your road test, please let us know ahead of time so that the instructor is available to assist you (additional charge will apply) .

  • You must show proof that you have completed the Teen License Requirements

  • Provide acceptable birth certificate or passport

  • Provide your SS#

  • Pass the behind-the-wheel driving test!

  • Be safe, defensive, confident, and responsible driver!

Note:  If you feel you need to practice more prior to your actual driving test, please call us to make an appointment.  Ron's Driving School wants you to pass!

2011 California Teen Laws

  • Once you pass your driving test and receive your provisional license, for a period of 12 months:

  • You cannot have passengers under age 20 unless you are accompanied by your parents or guardian with a valid drivers license.

  • You cannot drive between the hours of 11pm and 5am unless you have someone in the car age 25 or older with a valid driver's license.

Note:  If you are at least 17 1/2 you may obtain a permit without completing the Driver Education and Driver Training.  However, to get your drivers license before you turn 18 years old, you must provide proof of Drivers Education and Drivers Training.







Website Designed by:  Mariedel